Skip to content
MRP Directory
Menu

Materials Inventory

by Material Inventory, Inc.

Light manufacturingProprietary SaaSPartially verified

A Shopify app for makers that tracks raw materials against product recipes, deducts them as orders come in, runs production batches and raises purchase orders. Manufacturing orders start on the $89 Business plan. There is no public documentation beyond the landing page and the App Store listing.

Why it is classified this way

We call this a Light manufacturing product. Has bills of materials or recipes, consumes stock when you build, and tracks production, but time-phased planning is not verified.

It is not labeled Full MRP because we have not verified that it represents a bill of materials, recipe, or formula; accepts dated demand, sales orders, a forecast, or a master production schedule; nets that demand against stock on hand and orders already incoming; explodes requirements through at least one level of the bill of materials; uses lead times or required dates; and produces dated buy, make, transfer, release, or reschedule recommendations. That is a statement about the evidence we found, not a claim that the product is weak, see the capability table and the sources below.

The six Full MRP tests, and how Materials Inventory does on each (0 of 6)
  1. PartialIt represents a bill of materials, recipe, or formula.Not established. Backed only by a limited source (a vendor video from before 2023, source code, an old blog post or a single marketing line), which can fill the table but cannot pass this test.
  2. UnknownIt accepts dated demand, sales orders, a forecast, or a master production schedule.Not established. No evidence found yet.
  3. PartialIt nets that demand against stock on hand and orders already incoming.Not established. Only partly shown: the evidence covers some of this but not all of it, so the test is not established.
  4. UnknownIt explodes requirements through at least one level of the bill of materials.Not established. No evidence found yet.
  5. PartialIt uses lead times or required dates.Not established. Only partly shown: the evidence covers some of this but not all of it, so the test is not established.
  6. UnknownIt produces dated buy, make, transfer, release, or reschedule recommendations.Not established. No evidence found yet.

These rules are applied identically to every product and enforced at build time, a record cannot be published as Full MRP unless all six pass with a source attached. Read the methodology.

Best for

  • Shopify makers whose product stock depends on raw-material stock
  • Small shops that sell kits and bundles and need component stock kept in sync

Not a fit when

  • Anyone not selling on Shopify: the app runs inside a Shopify store
  • Shops that need lot tracking, quality records or dated purchase planning, none of which is described

Pricing facts

What it costs to do manufacturing in this product.

Advertised from

$39/month

Useful entry price

$89/month

Billing basis

Flat rate

Why the useful price is higher

Hobby at $39 tracks materials and recipes but greys out Manufacturing Orders and Components. Production runs start on Business at $89 a month.

Free trial: 7 days.

Plans

PlanPriceAdd-ons and setup
HobbyBilling term not stated$39/mo · single user—
500 materials, 500 orders a month, 1 staff member.
BusinessBilling term not stated$89/mo · single user—
1,200 materials, 2,000 orders a month, 1 staff member. Manufacturing Orders and Components are ticked from Business; treating that as where manufacturing starts is our reading.
Business ProBilling term not stated$189/mo · up to 2 users—
2,500 materials, 5,000 orders a month, 2 staff members.

Cheapest paid plan that manufactures, by paid users

  • 1 user: Business, $89 a month (billing term not stated); first year $1,068.

Price it for your own users, orders and locations

Pricing detail

Plans on the vendor page: Hobby $39 a month (500 materials, 500 orders a month, 1 staff member), Business $89 (1,200 materials, 2,000 orders, 1 staff member) and Business Pro $189 (2,500 materials, 5,000 orders, 2 staff members), each with a 7-day free trial. The feature list greys out Manufacturing Orders, Components, Multiple Inventory Locations and API Access on Hobby, and API Access and Multiple Inventory Locations on Business. The page shows "/month" without a billing term; Shopify apps are billed through Shopify.

Checked on October 9, 2026. Source: materialsinventoryapp.com(opens in a new tab). Prices change. Check before you buy.

Manufacturing capability

10 of 25 fields resolved. "Unknown" means we have not found first-party evidence. It is not a No.

Planning

Working out what to buy or make, and when.

Planning capabilities, with our finding and its source for each.
CapabilityFindingWhat we found
Accepts dated demandYou can tell it what is due and when, sales orders with dates, a forecast, or a production schedule.UnknownNot yet researched. We would need: documentation showing demand records that carry a required or due date.Know the answer?
Nets against stock on handIt subtracts what you already have before telling you to buy more.PartialLow-stock alerts on material thresholds: "Low inventory alerts. Thresholds dynamically adjusted." No calculation against demand is described.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: Marketing page, read 2026(opens in a new tab)Question this
Counts incoming ordersIt knows about purchase orders and production orders already placed, so it does not tell you to order twice.PartialThe purchasing feature promises "complete visibility into incoming shipments". Whether open orders reduce what the app suggests is not described.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: Marketing page, read 2026(opens in a new tab)Question this
Uses lead timesIt works backwards from when you need something to when you must order or start it, using supplier and production lead times.PartialSupplier lead times are recorded ("visibility into incoming shipments and supplier lead times"), but nothing shows them setting an order date.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: Marketing page, read 2026(opens in a new tab)Question this
Produces dated buy/make suggestionsThe output is an actionable list with dates, order this much by this date, start this batch on this date.UnknownNot yet researched. We would need: documentation or a screenshot of replenishment or planning suggestions carrying dates.Know the answer?
Capacity planningChecks whether your people and machines can do the work in the time available.UnknownNot yet researched. We would need: documentation of work-center or resource capacity being compared against load.Know the answer?

Production

Recipes, bills of materials, and running the work.

Production capabilities, with our finding and its source for each.
CapabilityFindingWhat we found
Bill of materialsA list of the parts and quantities needed to make one of something.Yes"Build exact recipes for your products. We automatically deduct the correct amount of every raw material when a sale is made."Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: Marketing page, read 2026(opens in a new tab)Question this
Multi-level BOMSub-assemblies inside assemblies, a part that is itself made from other parts, nested as deep as you need.UnknownNot yet researched. We would need: documentation of nested or multi-level bom structures, not just a flat component list.Know the answer?
Recipes & formulasBatch-style production by weight, volume, or percentage, including scaling a batch up or down.PartialProducts have recipes of raw materials, but no scaling or formula percentages are described.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: Marketing page, read 2026(opens in a new tab)Question this
Work / manufacturing ordersA record authorising and tracking the making of a specific quantity.Yes"Run production batches effortlessly. We remove the raw components used and add the finished goods to your available inventory." Manufacturing Orders are on Business and Business Pro.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: Marketing page, read 2026(opens in a new tab)Question this
Routings & operationsThe ordered steps a product goes through, and which machine or station does each one.UnknownNot yet researched. We would need: documentation of operation sequences or routings attached to production.Know the answer?
Shop-floor trackingOperators report progress, time, and completions as the work happens.UnknownNot yet researched. We would need: documentation of a shop-floor, operator, or terminal interface for reporting production.Know the answer?
Quality controlsChecks, tests, holds, and non-conformance records tied to production or receiving.UnknownNot yet researched. We would need: documentation of quality inspections, checks, or non-conformance handling.Know the answer?

Inventory & traceability

Knowing what you hold and being able to trace it.

Inventory & traceability capabilities, with our finding and its source for each.
CapabilityFindingWhat we found
Batch & lot traceabilityWhich incoming material lots went into which finished batch, and where those finished goods went.UnknownNot yet researched. We would need: documentation of lot or batch numbers tracked through consumption into finished goods.Know the answer?
Expiry & shelf lifeBest-before dates on materials and finished goods, with warnings before they lapse.UnknownNot yet researched. We would need: documentation of expiry, best-before, or shelf-life date fields.Know the answer?
Serial numbersUnique identifiers on individual units, for warranty or field service.UnknownNot yet researched. We would need: documentation of serial number tracking on individual units.Know the answer?

Commerce & accounting

Costs, purchasing, storefronts, and the books.

Commerce & accounting capabilities, with our finding and its source for each.
CapabilityFindingWhat we found
Product costing & COGSWhat it costs you to make one, and the cost of the goods you sold.Yes"Track dynamic unit costs for every product based on your most recent material purchase prices."Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: Marketing page, read 2026(opens in a new tab)Question this
PurchasingRaising and tracking purchase orders to suppliers from inside the system.Yes"Generate professional purchase orders in seconds." The App Store listing adds "Custom Purchase Orders".Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: Marketing page, read 2026(opens in a new tab); Marketing page, read 2026(opens in a new tab)Question this
Accounting connectionSends financial data to bookkeeping software, or includes its own general ledger.UnknownNot yet researched. We would need: documentation of a named accounting integration or a built-in ledger.Know the answer?
Ecommerce connectionPulls orders and pushes stock levels to a storefront or marketplace.YesBuilt for Shopify: "Your inventory updates instantly as orders roll in", and product stock is set from raw-material stock.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: Marketing page, read 2026(opens in a new tab); Marketing page, read 2026(opens in a new tab)Question this

Openness & your data

Getting data in, out, and away if you leave.

Openness & your data capabilities, with our finding and its source for each.
CapabilityFindingWhat we found
APIA documented programming interface so other software can read and write your data.Partial"API Access" is listed on Business Pro only; no public API documentation was found.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: Marketing page, read 2026(opens in a new tab)Question this
WebhooksThe system can notify other software the moment something changes.UnknownNot yet researched. We would need: documentation of outbound webhooks or event subscriptions.Know the answer?
MCP supportA Model Context Protocol server, letting an AI assistant read or act on this data. Useful, but it has nothing to do with whether the product plans materials.UnknownNot yet researched. We would need: a first-party mcp server, or documentation of one.Know the answer?
CSV exportYou can get your lists out as spreadsheet files.UnknownNot yet researched. We would need: documentation of csv or spreadsheet export.Know the answer?
Full data exportYou can take everything, including history and relationships, not just a few screens' worth of rows.UnknownNot yet researched. We would need: documentation of a complete account export, database dump, or equivalent.Know the answer?

Deployment, licensing and your data

Deployment
Cloud (hosted for you)
Licensing
Proprietary SaaS
Team sizes
Just me, 2–5 people
Manufacturing styles
Batch & recipe products, Kits & bundles

Integrations

  • Shopify
  • Bundle Builder

Jobs this product qualifies for

Derived from the capability table above, not hand-assigned.

Editorial notes and cautions

Things we would want a friend to know before buying.

  • Everything here rests on the vendor's landing page and its Shopify App Store listing. There is no public help center, so each claim is a one-line marketing statement.

Evidence and verification

Partially verifiedLast checked October 9, 2026 · 40% of capability fields resolved · 100% of those carry a source

Why this record is not Verified. Held at partially verified because every claim is a marketing line.

Researched 2026-09-19. The vendor's root URL is only a Shopify install screen; the landing page and the App Store listing are the only public sources. Plan features were read from the pricing icons in the page HTML (tick or minus). Held at partially verified because every claim is a marketing line.

Sources we checked (2)

What we still want to confirm

We publish our gaps rather than hiding them. If you can point us at a first-party page for any of these, we will update the record and credit the correction.

  • Find documentation for production batches, components (sub-assemblies) and purchase order receiving.
  • Check lot or batch tracking, expiry and any accounting integration.
  • Confirm the billing term and whether annual pricing exists.

Still unknown: accepts dated demand, produces dated buy/make suggestions, capacity planning, multi-level bom, routings & operations, shop-floor tracking, quality controls, batch & lot traceability, expiry & shelf life, serial numbers, accounting connection, webhooks, mcp support, csv export, full data export.

Report a correction