Skip to content
MRP Directory
Menu

Kerno

by Kerno

Batch / process manufacturingProprietary SaaS✓ Verified

A batch manufacturing product for formula-driven makers, covering formulas, batches, lots, QA and costing. You can use it today: the beta is open, costs nothing, needs no credit card, and the vendor advertises no end date for it. The product already carries numbered production steps, operator assignment, batch expiry dates and cost breakdowns.

Beta, not generally available

Kerno calls itself an open beta: free to join, no credit card, and no advertised end date. You can use it today, but purchasing and CSV export are still roadmap items, so expect gaps and change.

Why it is classified this way

We call this a Batch / process manufacturing product. Built around recipes or formulas, batch runs, and lot genealogy. May or may not include full time-phased planning.

It is not labeled Full MRP because we have not verified that it accepts dated demand, sales orders, a forecast, or a master production schedule; nets that demand against stock on hand and orders already incoming; explodes requirements through at least one level of the bill of materials; uses lead times or required dates; and produces dated buy, make, transfer, release, or reschedule recommendations. That is a statement about the evidence we found, not a claim that the product is weak, see the capability table and the sources below.

The six Full MRP tests, and how Kerno does on each (1 of 6)
  1. YesIt represents a bill of materials, recipe, or formula.Evidence: app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch creator (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch editor (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch view (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); buildwithkerno.com(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Stock base formulas (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab)
  2. PartialIt accepts dated demand, sales orders, a forecast, or a master production schedule.Not established. Only partly shown: the evidence covers some of this but not all of it, so the test is not established.
  3. PartialIt nets that demand against stock on hand and orders already incoming.Does not meet this test. Partly met. First-party evidence says yes to “Nets against stock on hand” but no to “Counts incoming orders”, and the test needs both.
  4. PartialIt explodes requirements through at least one level of the bill of materials.Not established. Only partly shown: the evidence covers some of this but not all of it, so the test is not established.Choosing a product in Batch Creator copies that product's ingredient lines, packaging, steps and QA into a draft batch, so one level of components is there. What the test asks for is not: nothing turns demand for a finished item into component quantities. There is no demand record to start from, and the copied quantities do not follow the batch size; a Soy Wax line entered as 5.00 lb stayed at 5.00 lb when Batch Size went from 10 to 20 on 2026-09-23, as it had in the retests of 2026-08-27 and 2026-09-15. This would pass once a demand quantity for a finished item produces the component quantities it needs. Seen in a beta account on 2026-09-23; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them. app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch creator (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch editor (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab)
  5. PartialIt uses lead times or required dates.Not established. Only partly shown: the evidence covers some of this but not all of it, so the test is not established.
  6. PartialIt produces dated buy, make, transfer, release, or reschedule recommendations.Not established. Only partly shown: the evidence covers some of this but not all of it, so the test is not established.

These rules are applied identically to every product and enforced at build time, a record cannot be published as Full MRP unless all six pass with a source attached. Read the methodology.

Best for

  • Formula-driven makers who want to start today, since beta access is free, needs no credit card, and the vendor advertises no end date for it
  • Shops that want to know what a batch cost with labour in it: a completed batch shows raw material, labour and packaging cost, a cost per unit, and retail and dealer prices over that cost
  • Makers who want a say in what gets built, because the vendor is actively shaping it around user feedback
  • Supplement, pet product, cleaning product, and paint and coatings makers as much as the skincare, soap, candle and food trades: the vendor writes a dedicated guide for each, and the record set is the same across all of them
  • Buyers who value a vendor being findable: Kerno publishes a street address, a phone number, named staff and a Discord, which is more than most of this catalog does

Not a fit when

  • Anyone who raises purchase orders or takes dated sales orders, since the beta account has neither: stock is booked when it arrives and a customer is a name on a batch. The vendor says purchasing comes with its v2, not yet dated
  • Anyone who needs their data back out, since no list in the account exports. The vendor says CSV export is going on its roadmap, not yet dated
  • Shops that need a signed support commitment, since no response time, support hours or service level is published
  • Anyone relying on the free Incubator tier after the beta, since 3 formulas and 10 batches a month is a hobby allowance rather than a business one
  • Anyone who needs verified time-phased planning, which neither the public material nor the account provides
  • Anyone who wants barcode labels inside the same system, since the vendor sells labeling as a separate product called Scan Simple and says in its own words that it "is not an inventory, manufacturing, batch, costing, QA, or POS-sales synchronization system"

Pricing facts

What it costs to do manufacturing in this product.

Free plan

Incubator is free for one user, and capped tightly: up to 3 product formulas, 10 batches a month, basic batch creation with ingredients, SKUs, lots and packaging, and an essential cost breakdown. The vendor describes it as for students and hobbyists, and it is joined by applying to the Kerno Incubator Program. The formula cap is the one that bites first, because three formulas is a single small product line, not a business.

Free plan

$0/month

Advertised from

$59.99/month

Useful entry price

$59.99/month

Billing basis

Flat rate

Plans

PlanPriceAdd-ons and setup
IncubatorFree—
Joined through an application to the Kerno Incubator Program. 1 user, up to 3 product formulas, 10 batches a month. "For students & hobbyists just starting the journey." The pricing section says "No hidden fees" and lists no setup or onboarding charge, but does not say outright that there is none.
SoloBilling term not stated$59.99/mo · single user—
1 user; unlimited product formulas, batches and lot records. Kerno is in a free open beta with no announced end date; this is the published price for after it. Adds the production batch workflow, unlimited formulas and QA management. Treating the batch workflow as where manufacturing starts is our reading. The pricing section says "No hidden fees" and lists no setup or onboarding charge, but does not say outright that there is none.
TeamsBilling term not stated$149.99/mo · 5 users included, then $10 each · up to 20 users—
5 users included, up to 20 in total; extra users $10/month each. Kerno is in a free open beta with no announced end date; this is the published price for after it. "Additional Pro users are $10/month each, up to 20 total users." Full traceability is a Teams line; lots exist from Incubator, so gating lot traceability here is our reading. The pricing switcher labels this tier "Pro". The pricing section says "No hidden fees" and lists no setup or onboarding charge, but does not say outright that there is none.

Cheapest paid plan that manufactures, by paid users

  • 1 user: Solo, $59.99 a month (billing term not stated); first year $720.
  • 5 users: Teams, $149.99 a month (billing term not stated); first year $1,800.
  • 10 users: Teams, $199.99 a month (billing term not stated); first year $2,400.

Price it for your own users, orders and locations

Pricing detail

Free while the beta runs. The vendor's own beta guide answers the two questions that matter. On cost: "Yes. Kerno is free of charge while it is in Beta. There is no fixed Beta end date being advertised." On sign-up: "No. A credit card is not required to create a free Kerno Beta account." So the cheapest way to find out whether it suits you is to use it. The published tiers are what applies afterwards: Incubator free (1 user), Solo $59.99/month (1 user), Teams $149.99/month (5 users, extra seats $10/month to a maximum of 20), Enterprise custom. The tier gating matters as much as the rates. Solo adds the production batch workflow, automatic lot and packaging assignment, inventory reservation and reconciliation, unlimited formulas, QA management, the full cost engine, retail and dealer pricing, and chat and Discord support. Full traceability, operator assignment, customer and vendor management, roles and permissions, dashboard and analytics, and hazmat management come in at Teams, so a shop that needs traceability for compliance is looking at $149.99 rather than $59.99. Multi-location operation, TDS/SDS management and priority support are Enterprise. The Kickstarter campaign has ended and the $1 reservation the vendor once sold alongside it has been refunded, so there is no launch rate to hold on to. What is on offer now is the open beta at no charge, with the Incubator tier still free for one user once the beta ends. The way in is the homepage's "Join Kerno Beta" button, which goes straight to the app's sign-up page. On 2026-09-23 the old free beta page redirected to the homepage, and the early-access page showed only "Free Beta Access": its $1 checkout form is commented out of the page, and one "Reserve your spot for $1" link survives on a screen shown after joining the launch list. If you are ever offered the $1 reservation, ask the vendor before paying it. The pricing section says "No hidden fees" and lists no setup or onboarding charge on any tier, though it never says outright that there is none. Its tier switcher labels the $149.99 tier "Pro" while the card below calls it Teams, and extra seats are sold as "Additional Pro users"; they are the same tier. Inside the app, the Subscription page of a beta account reads only "You currently have an active trial" and names no tier, while the account itself shows the features the pricing page reserves for Teams, including task and operator assignment and vendor and customer management.

Checked on October 9, 2026. Source: buildwithkerno.com(opens in a new tab). Prices change. Check before you buy.

Manufacturing capability

22 of 25 fields resolved. "Unknown" means we have not found first-party evidence. It is not a No.

Planning

Working out what to buy or make, and when.

Planning capabilities, with our finding and its source for each.
CapabilityFindingWhat we found
Accepts dated demandYou can tell it what is due and when, sales orders with dates, a forecast, or a production schedule.PartialA batch can be assigned to a customer, and the Customers module holds companies with addresses. That is the whole demand side in the beta account: there is no sales order, no quantity due, no due date and no forecast anywhere in the menus, so the only date a batch carries is the one you type on it. The vendor's writing about an order layer with due dates describes something the account does not yet have, and its help-center article on forecasting demand still ends "This is a sample article", so it is not counted here. A customer record was opened on 2026-09-15 to be sure: it is a company with an address and named contacts, and it carries no order, no quantity and no due date. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch creator (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Customers (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); resources.buildwithkerno.com › Multi batch food order release map(opens in a new tab)Question this
Nets against stock on handIt subtracts what you already have before telling you to buy more.YesA batch lists what it needs, and each ingredient line opens a lot picker that shows every lot on hand with its stock and lets you assign a quantity against it; the section reads Needs Attention until the lines are covered, and stock on the lot falls by what was assigned. The dashboard carries an Inventory Stockout panel. That is requirements checked against stock on hand. The prototype's finished-goods view with Total, Reserved and Available columns was not found in the account, where Finished Goods is a list of product definitions, so read the netting as material-side. The vendor's pricing page lists "Inventory reservation and reconciliation" on the Solo tier, which matches the lot assignment seen here. This is the stock-on-hand half of the netting test; the other half, orders already incoming, is the gap, recorded under incoming orders. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch editor (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Inventory (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Dashboard shop (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); buildwithkerno.com(opens in a new tab)Question this
Counts incoming ordersIt knows about purchase orders and production orders already placed, so it does not tell you to order twice.NoNothing incoming exists to count. A walk of every menu in the beta account found no purchase order, no expected receipt and no on-order quantity. The only inbound record is Add Inventory, which books stock that has already arrived with its vendor, lot number, purchase date, expiry date and cost. Kerno does not know what you have ordered until it is on the shelf. Kerno told us on 2026-09-15 that tracking incoming purchase orders is part of the v2 it is building now, which adds purchasing. No date was given, so this stays at no until an open order shows up in an account. Even then, tracking a purchase order is not the same as counting it in the plan: the netting test also needs an open order to reduce what a batch shows as short. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Inventory (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Account settings (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab)Question this
Uses lead timesIt works backwards from when you need something to when you must order or start it, using supplier and production lead times.PartialDates exist without lead times. Batches carry a creation date, a packaged date and an expiration date; lots carry a purchase date and an expiration date; production steps carry a planned duration. No ingredient, vendor or lot record has a lead time field, and nothing works backwards from a date. Every field on the three forms was listed on 2026-09-15: a vendor holds name, contact person, account number, email, phone, two addresses, country, state, city, ZIP, payment terms and website; an ingredient holds name, secret name, unit, notes, CAS number, form, category and hazmat; a stock receipt holds ingredient, SKU, vendor, lot number, purchase date, expiration date, cost, unit and quantity. Not a lead time among them. The dates are recorded, not used: nothing takes a required date and works out when to buy or when to start a batch, and a required-date workflow of that kind would pass this test without a lead time field. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch view (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Inventory (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Vendors (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); resources.buildwithkerno.com › Finished goods order readiness kerno(opens in a new tab)Question this
Produces dated buy/make suggestionsThe output is an actionable list with dates, order this much by this date, start this batch on this date.PartialIt flags, it does not schedule. The dashboard shows stockouts, batches in draft, batches pending QA, a production rate in batches per day and a Value at Risk figure; a batch section reads Needs Attention until its lines are covered. None of it says buy this much by this date or start this batch on that one, and there is no purchase order for such an instruction to raise. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Dashboard shop (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch editor (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab)Question this
Capacity planningChecks whether your people and machines can do the work in the time available.PartialThe dashboard reports Production Efficiency as a percentage, a rate in batches per day and a Workload Distribution by user, and Labor Costs define an operation, a resource such as a pouring station, and an hourly rate. Nothing compares planned work against available hours or refuses a batch the resource cannot do. The vendor's capacity worksheets are spreadsheets and name no Kerno feature. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Dashboard shop (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Labor cost (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); resources.buildwithkerno.com › Candle production capacity worksheet seasonal rush(opens in a new tab)Question this

Production

Recipes, bills of materials, and running the work.

Production capabilities, with our finding and its source for each.
CapabilityFindingWhat we found
Bill of materialsA list of the parts and quantities needed to make one of something.YesChoosing a product in Batch Creator built a draft with two ingredients and their weights, one packaging item, one production step and the QA requirements, all copied from the product. That is component lines copied from the product into a batch, in a running account rather than the prototype; it is not demand for a finished item calculated down into component quantities, which is what the explosion test asks for. The vendor's homepage describes the same thing: "Connect every ingredient, package, step, and cost in one reusable formula." One caveat: the draft at batch size 1 carried the same 6 lb of wax and 6 oz of fragrance as the completed batch of 12, so the quantities are per batch as last defined, not calculated from the size you enter. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch creator (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch editor (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch view (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); buildwithkerno.com(opens in a new tab)Question this
Multi-level BOMSub-assemblies inside assemblies, a part that is itself made from other parts, nested as deep as you need.NoOne level, with no way to nest. A product formula record holds a name, a product type and a SKU; the ingredient list lives on the batch, and the Add Ingredient picker there offers raw ingredients only, the three held in the account, with no product, formula or finished good among them. A base or premix that is itself made in a batch cannot be an ingredient of the next one, so a two-stage product is two unlinked batches. Seen in a beta account on 2026-09-15, in a test business with two products and four batches; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch editor (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Stock base formulas (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab)Question this
Recipes & formulasBatch-style production by weight, volume, or percentage, including scaling a batch up or down.PartialBy weight and volume, yes; scaled, not that we saw. Ingredient lines carry a quantity and a unit (6.00 lb, 6.00 oz) and packaging a piece count, and the Product Formula record itself holds only a name, a product type and a SKU, with the ingredient, packaging, step and QA lists living on the batch and copied into the next batch of that product. Entering a different batch size did not change the quantities, and the definition here includes scaling a batch up or down, so this stays short of yes until scaling is shown. Retested on 2026-09-15: typing 12 into Batch Size on a draft built at size 1 left the lines at 6.00 lb and 6.00 oz, so a quantity is what the last batch of that product used, not a function of the size you enter. Retested again on 2026-09-23 in a new test business: a Soy Wax line entered as 5.00 lb stayed at 5.00 lb when Batch Size went from 10 to 20. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Stock base formulas (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch editor (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); buildwithkerno.com(opens in a new tab)Question this
Work / manufacturing ordersA record authorising and tracking the making of a specific quantity.YesA batch is the work order. It carries a number, a size, a product, an optional customer, dates and a lot number, and moves through Draft, Ready, In Progress, QA Batch and Completed, with Denied as the failure state and a Move to Ready button gating the first step. Batch Finder searches by batch number, lot number, status or customer. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch editor (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch lookup (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); buildwithkerno.com(opens in a new tab)Question this
Routings & operationsThe ordered steps a product goes through, and which machine or station does each one.YesNumbered production steps with an operation, a planned duration, an hourly rate, a description, an operator and a status, copied from the product into each batch. The Labor Costs page defines each operation against a resource, for example Pour on the pouring station at $20 an hour, so a step does name the station that does it. No capacity or calendar sits behind the station. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch view (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Labor cost (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab)Question this
Shop-floor trackingOperators report progress, time, and completions as the work happens.YesSteps are assigned to a named operator, who gets a task notification and a Tasks list with Waiting, In Progress, Blocked and Done states, and the dashboard shows workload by user. The time on a step is the planned duration, not clocked time, so this is progress and completion reporting rather than time capture. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Tasks (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch view (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Dashboard shop (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab)Question this
Quality controlsChecks, tests, holds, and non-conformance records tied to production or receiving.YesEach batch carries QA Requirements as criteria, standard and status, for example Cold throw, scent noticeable at 12 inches after 48 hours cure, Approved. QA sits as its own stage between In Progress and Completed, is marked Required before completion, and a failed batch goes to Denied, which the dashboard costs separately. The QA function can be switched off in Account Settings. There is no receiving inspection and no certificate of analysis. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch view (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Account settings (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); buildwithkerno.com(opens in a new tab)Question this

Inventory & traceability

Knowing what you hold and being able to trace it.

Inventory & traceability capabilities, with our finding and its source for each.
CapabilityFindingWhat we found
Batch & lot traceabilityWhich incoming material lots went into which finished batch, and where those finished goods went.YesBackwards from a batch, yes. Stock arrives as a lot with a vendor, lot number, purchase date, expiry date and cost; an ingredient line on a batch opens View SKU, which names the vendor lot consumed and the quantity taken from it; the finished batch gets its own lot number (FG-B0001), and Batch Finder searches by lot number. What you would still do by hand is the forward direction, from one supplier lot to every batch that used it, because no screen lists that. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch view (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch lookup (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Inventory (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); buildwithkerno.com(opens in a new tab)Question this
Expiry & shelf lifeBest-before dates on materials and finished goods, with warnings before they lapse.PartialDates are recorded and nothing acts on them. Every lot receipt takes an expiration date and every batch carries one (the completed batch shows Aug 2027), and the lot picker displays a lot's expiry beside its stock while you assign it. No warning fires before a date lapses and nothing blocks an expired lot from being assigned. The vendor's soap guide confirms the shape: Kerno keeps the dates and "the soap maker remains responsible for deciding". Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Inventory (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch editor (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); resources.buildwithkerno.com › How kerno helps soap makers formulas materials cure time …(opens in a new tab)Question this
Serial numbersUnique identifiers on individual units, for warranty or field service.NoNo serial number field exists on ingredients, lots, packaging, batches or finished goods, and Batch Finder offers batch number, lot number, status and customer as its only search fields. Traceability is at the lot and batch, not the unit. Kerno told us on 2026-09-15 that serial numbers are not on its current roadmap, though it has noted the request. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch lookup (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Inventory (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab)Question this

Commerce & accounting

Costs, purchasing, storefronts, and the books.

Commerce & accounting capabilities, with our finding and its source for each.
CapabilityFindingWhat we found
Product costing & COGSWhat it costs you to make one, and the cost of the goods you sold.YesA completed batch shows raw material, labour and packaging cost and a total, here $21.30, $15.00 and $10.20 for $46.50, with a cost per finished unit and retail and dealer prices set as a percentage over cost. Labour comes from the step's duration times the operation's hourly rate. Account Settings choose average cost or a specific vendor's cost for ingredients, average or per-SKU cost for packaging, and whether an electricity rate enters batch cost. The vendor's guide states the method: "Recorded cost per acceptable unit = recorded batch input cost ÷ acceptable finished units". Overhead beyond electricity is not allocated and there is no cost of goods sold report. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Batch view (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Account settings (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Labor cost (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); resources.buildwithkerno.com › Know product costs kerno materials production cost visibi…(opens in a new tab)Question this
PurchasingRaising and tracking purchase orders to suppliers from inside the system.PartialReceiving without ordering. Vendors hold contact details, an account number, a contact person and payment terms, and Add Inventory books a receipt against a vendor with lot number, purchase date, expiry, cost and quantity. There is no purchase order to raise, send or track, so what you have ordered is not in the system until it arrives. Kerno told us on 2026-09-15 that the v2 it is building now adds purchasing, including tracking orders before the stock arrives. There is no release date yet, so this stays partial until it can be seen working. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Vendors (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Inventory (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab)Question this
Accounting connectionSends financial data to bookkeeping software, or includes its own general ledger.NoThere is nothing to connect. Every settings surface was opened on 2026-09-15, the business Account Settings page and the owner's Businesses, Teams and Security, Roles, Billing and Profile pages, and none of them offers an integration, a connected app or an accounting export. Batch cost is worked out in Kerno and stays there, so the journal entry is yours to make. Seen in a beta account on 2026-09-15; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Account settings (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Profile (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab)Question this
Ecommerce connectionPulls orders and pushes stock levels to a storefront or marketplace.NoNo store connection exists. The same walk of every settings surface on 2026-09-15 found nothing for Shopify, WooCommerce, Etsy or any other channel, and Finished Goods is a list of product definitions rather than listings, stock or orders. Seen in a beta account on 2026-09-15; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Account settings (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Finished goods (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab)Question this

Openness & your data

Getting data in, out, and away if you leave.

Openness & your data capabilities, with our finding and its source for each.
CapabilityFindingWhat we found
APIA documented programming interface so other software can read and write your data.UnknownStill unknown after three account walks, so treat it as absent until Kerno says otherwise. No page in the account offers API keys, a developer section or an integrations screen: business Account Settings covers batch and lot numbering, lot and SKU assignment, an electricity rate, cost methods, the secret formula switch and the QA PIN, and the five owner pages hold nothing of the kind. Loading /api/ while signed in lands on the owner dashboard. The public help center has an "Integrations & AI" category with no articles in it, and the homepage names no integration. None of that proves there is no API, which is why the field stays unknown. Checked in a beta account on 2026-09-23, on the site owner's login, including a new test business set up from scratch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Know the answer?
WebhooksThe system can notify other software the moment something changes.UnknownStill unknown, and nothing points to them. No settings page in the account, business or owner level, has a webhook, notification endpoint or event subscription, and no public page describes one. Kerno has not been asked directly. Checked in a beta account on 2026-09-23, on the site owner's login, including a new test business set up from scratch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Know the answer?
MCP supportA Model Context Protocol server, letting an AI assistant read or act on this data. Useful, but it has nothing to do with whether the product plans materials.UnknownStill unknown, and nothing points to one. The account has no connector, AI or integration settings, and the help center's "Integrations & AI" category was empty on 2026-09-23. Kerno has not been asked directly. Checked in a beta account on 2026-09-23, on the site owner's login, including a new test business set up from scratch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Know the answer?
CSV exportYou can get your lists out as spreadsheet files.NoFour lists import and none exports. Vendors, Customers, Finished Goods and Labor Costs each offer Import CSV with a downloadable template, which is a real convenience for loading a shop. No list in the account has an export control, the Export button seen in the prototype's reporting area was not found, and the vendor's own beta guide tells users to ask whether "the business export items, formulas, inventory, and production history in a usable format". Kerno confirmed on 2026-09-15 that CSV export does not exist yet and said it will add it to the roadmap, with no date. Until it ships, assume your data leaves by hand. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Vendors (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); app.buildwithkerno.com › Finished goods (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); resources.buildwithkerno.com › Kerno beta join the future of product management(opens in a new tab)Question this
Full data exportYou can take everything, including history and relationships, not just a few screens' worth of rows.NoNothing in the account exports anything, and the Profile page's only bulk action is Delete Account, which the page says will "permanently remove all your shops and data". We asked Kerno on 2026-09-15 and it is checking internally, with an answer to follow. Until then, ask the vendor before you load real history. Seen in a beta account on 2026-08-27, in a test business with one product and one completed batch; the app pages cited need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them.Source: app.buildwithkerno.com › Profile (hands-on, signed in, September 2026)(opens in a new tab); resources.buildwithkerno.com › Kerno beta join the future of product management(opens in a new tab)Question this

On the vendor's roadmap

The vendor's own account of what is coming, dated. A plan changes nothing in the table above, which records what we saw working.

  • Purchasing is being built into the v2 Kerno is working on now, and tracking incoming purchase orders comes with it, so stock on order would be visible before it arrives. No release date was given. Vendor statement, September 15, 2026.
  • CSV export from a list does not exist yet and Kerno is adding it to the roadmap. No release date was given. Vendor statement, September 15, 2026.
  • Serial numbers are not on the current roadmap. Kerno has noted the request, and tracking stays at lot and batch level for now. Vendor statement, September 15, 2026.
  • Whether an account can be exported in full is being checked inside Kerno, with an answer to follow. Vendor statement, September 15, 2026.

Deployment, licensing and your data

Deployment
Cloud (hosted for you)
Licensing
Proprietary SaaS
Team sizes
Just me, 2–5 people, 6–20 people
Manufacturing styles
Batch & recipe products, Continuous process

Industries

Jobs this product qualifies for

Derived from the capability table above, not hand-assigned.

Editorial notes and cautions

Things we would want a friend to know before buying.

  • Evidence for this record now comes from three places, and each note says which. Walks through a beta account on 2026-08-27 (one product, one completed batch and one draft) and on 2026-09-15 (two products and four batches) are behind every yes and every no: those notes cite pages on app.buildwithkerno.com that need a login, and a free beta account reproduces them. The vendor's public prototype backs what the account did not reach. The vendor's resource site, 178 articles read in full on 2026-08-27, is advice with a closing paragraph on Kerno and never lifts a field on its own.
  • What the account does not have is as useful as what it does. Every menu was opened: there is no purchase order, no sales order, no export control, no API key, no integration setting and no lead time field anywhere. Receiving is a stock-in form with vendor, lot, cost and dates; Customers is an address book; the batch is the only planning object. The pricing page reserves nothing of that kind for a higher tier either, so treat these as absent rather than locked. On 2026-09-15 Kerno said purchasing is part of the v2 it is building now and CSV export will go on its roadmap. Those are plans; the values here describe the account as it is.
  • The Kickstarter campaign has ended, on the site owner's account. Kerno is now an open beta that costs nothing to use, anyone can sign up from the homepage's "Join Kerno Beta" button, and the free Incubator tier remains alongside it. The $1 reservation sold on the vendor's site before the campaign has been refunded. The public project page does not show this: viewed logged out on 2026-08-27 it still reads "Launching soon" with only a "Notify me on launch" action, and no goal, total, deadline or rewards. The vendor's homepage and demo page no longer link to it, and the reservation and demo pages the Kickstarter story links to return 404. So the campaign's goal, dates, backer count and outcome are not recorded here, because we could not see them, and the page on file may not be the one the campaign ran on. On 2026-09-23 the old free beta page redirected to the homepage and the early-access page offered only free beta access; its $1 checkout is commented out of the page, leaving one stray "Reserve your spot for $1" link on a screen shown after joining the launch list. This record's campaign reporting has been corrected more than once, and each version is kept in the editor note rather than tidied away.
  • Kerno, Inc. was founded in 2026 and lists 2 to 10 employees on LinkedIn, though its own team page names four founders and officers and more than a dozen staff across product, development and marketing, in Winchester, Virginia. Worth knowing when you weigh a young vendor, and a reason to keep your data exportable, as it is with any supplier.
  • Support is email, phone, website chat, scheduled calls, a Discord server and a Facebook group, with chat and Discord named on the Solo plan. The Discord invite resolved to a server of about a dozen members on 2026-08-27, so treat it as a direct line to the vendor rather than a user community. No response time, support hours or service level agreement is published.
  • The vendor also sells a separate product called Scan Simple, which prints POS-scannable labels for goods sold by weight or length, outputs Zebra ZPL and DYMO formats, and has its own public API. In the vendor's own words it "is not an inventory, manufacturing, batch, costing, QA, or POS-sales synchronization system", so its API and webhook documentation says nothing about the MRP platform. API and webhooks stay unknown here rather than borrowing evidence from a different product.
  • The public material describes formulas, batches, lots, QA and costing. It does not describe time-phased material planning, so do not assume MRP in the full sense. The account agrees: dates are recorded on batches and lots, but nothing works out from them when to buy or when to start.
  • The vendor's own beta guide lists questions a beta user should ask before loading real data: whether items, formulas, inventory and production history can be exported, who can edit approved formulas or delete records, whether there is an audit trail, and what happens to data after leaving the beta. Those are good questions. We put the export question to Kerno on 2026-09-15: CSV export is not built yet and is going on the roadmap, and whether a full account export exists is still being checked. The others cannot be answered from public material, so ask them.

Alternatives to Kerno

An alternative is always an alternative for a reason. There is no universal replacement.

  • WherefourStronger batch & traceabilityStronger true MRP

    Wherefour solves the same batch and compliance problem with a longer public track record and settled commercial terms, which is the trade against Kerno being free to try today.

  • Compared on BatchBoost's page, where we wrote: "Kerno is another batch and lot tool for formula-driven makers, with QA records and expiry on batches; it is priced in US dollars and is not food-specific."

  • Compared on Cropster's page, where we wrote: "Kerno is a general formula-and-batch tool for small makers and costs far less than Cropster's Scale package; a roaster who mainly needs recipes, batches and stock, not roast profiling, could start there."

See all alternatives to Kerno, grouped by reason →

Evidence and verification

✓ VerifiedLast checked September 23, 2026 · 88% of capability fields resolved · 100% of those carry a source

Recorded as live: beta access is open and free, the app holds real accounts, and shops are using it. Where our label runs ahead of the vendor's own wording ("Join Kerno Beta", "as we prepare for launch"), the cautions say so. Verified here means an editor checked the claims against first-party evidence; it is not a statement that the software is proven in production.

2026-08-14. A review of the six Full MRP rules moved the record from 0 of 6 to 2 of 6: the formula-to-batch flow carries rules 1 and 4, and rules 2, 3 and 5 had real evidence recorded as partial. Most evidence then was the vendor's interactive prototype, and the resource articles were cited only against partial values, never to support a yes. Campaign reporting was corrected twice that day: the creator profile's "0 backed" counts projects the creator has backed, not backers of this one, and a logged-out crowdfunding page is not a reliable read of campaign state. Promoted to Verified the same day, as a side effect of the rules review rather than a separate push.

2026-08-27, morning. All 178 articles on the vendor's resources site, its five feature videos, the Kickstarter page in a browser, the Discord invite and the company page were read. The articles are advice with a closing paragraph about Kerno, almost all in the future tense; the two that describe the software most directly, on costing and on finished goods, are quoted in the notes. No field moved on them. The campaign is recorded as ended on the site owner's account, with the $1 reservation refunded and the reservation page gone, while the public project page still renders as pre-launch and the vendor's free-beta page still offers the reservation; the campaign's figures are not recorded because no page showed them.

2026-08-27, afternoon. The record was checked against a running beta account, the site owner's own, with every menu opened and nothing changed beyond one draft batch created to see what a product pulls in. Eight fields moved to yes on that evidence: bill of materials, netting against stock on hand, work orders, routings, shop-floor tracking, quality, lot traceability and costing. Four moved to no, because a complete walk of a live account with nothing of the kind in it is evidence of absence in a way a marketing page never is: incoming orders, serial numbers, CSV export and full data export. Recipes and formulas went from yes to partial, because a different batch size did not scale the quantities. The six rules stay at 2 of 6, and rules 2, 3, 5 and 6 now fail on what the account shows rather than on missing evidence. API, webhooks, MCP, accounting and e-commerce stay unknown because an integration can live outside the interface; nothing in Account Settings points to one. Scan Simple, the vendor's separate label printer, is never cited for this product.

2026-09-15. Kerno replied on the four fields that went to no. Tracking incoming purchase orders is part of the v2 being built now, which adds purchasing. Serial numbers are not on the current roadmap, though the request has been noted. CSV export does not exist yet and is going on the roadmap. Whether a full account export exists is being checked internally, with an answer to follow. No release dates were given. We take the vendor at its word on what it plans, but a plan is not a shipped feature, so all four stay at no, purchasing stays at partial, and the rules stay at 2 of 6. Each field's note now carries the vendor's answer.

2026-09-15, second pass. Rather than put to the vendor what the account could answer, the account was walked again, on the site owner's login, with two products and four batches in it now. Three fields moved. Multi-level bills of materials went from unknown to no: the Add Ingredient picker on a batch lists raw ingredients only, so a premix that is itself made in a batch cannot feed the next one. Accounting and e-commerce went from unknown to no: every settings surface, the business Account Settings page and all five owner-level pages, holds no integration of any kind. Formula scaling was retested and still does not scale, so recipes and formulas stays partial on firmer ground. The absence of a sales order and of a lead time field was confirmed field by field on the vendor, ingredient and stock-receipt forms. API, webhooks and MCP stay unknown on purpose: the interface has no key management anywhere, but an interface is not where an API would show itself. Nothing was saved to the account beyond opening forms and closing them.

2026-09-23. Third account walk, on the site owner's login, this time setting up a new test business, Directory Test Batch Co, from nothing: a vendor, a raw ingredient with its form and category created inline, a stock receipt, a product type, a product formula and a draft batch T-1 with one ingredient line. Nothing moved. The vendor and stock-receipt forms still have no lead time; the stock receipt asks for SKU, vendor, lot, purchase date, expiry date, cost, unit and stock. Scaling was retested and still does not scale. The sidebar is unchanged apart from Categories being renamed Raw Material Categories, so v2 purchasing has not shipped. The Subscription page still reads only "active trial". No page offers API keys or integrations, and /api/ while signed in lands on the owner dashboard, so API, webhooks and MCP stay unknown with that written into each note. Public pages: the pricing tiers match the record, the pricing section says "No hidden fees" and lists no setup charge, which is noted on each plan but left unknown because it never says outright that there is none, and Solo and Teams limits were filled from the tier cards. The free beta page now redirects to the homepage and the $1 reservation checkout is commented out of the early-access page, so the pricing note and caution were brought up to date. The batch T-1 was left in draft, because adding a production step needs a labour operation set up first; the test business was left in the account for later walks.

2026-09-28. An outside audit of the six Full MRP rules, read against this record, the methodology and the vendor's public site, found wording that ran ahead of the evidence. No rule moved, and the count is 1 of 6. The entries above that say 2 of 6 were wrong from 2026-08-27, when formula scaling failed: rule 4 never had an assertion of its own, so the site has shown it as unknown. It now has one, at partial, because copying a product's lines into a batch gives one level of components but does not calculate them from demand. The BOM note that called that copying "one level of explosion" now says what it is. The stock-on-hand half of rule 3 cites the pricing page's "Inventory reservation and reconciliation", and the incoming-orders note says that purchase-order tracking in v2 would still have to count in the plan to pass. The finished-goods guide's line that Kerno "does not guarantee completion dates" is no longer used as evidence for rule 5: it is a disclaimer, not a feature limit. The public forecasting article is not counted for rule 2, since it still ends in the sample-article footer. The homepage quote on reusable formulas was re-fetched on 2026-09-28. The audit could not sign in to the app or see Kerno's roadmap, so it added no account evidence.

Sources we checked (43)

app.buildwithkerno.com

resources.buildwithkerno.com

What we still want to confirm

We publish our gaps rather than hiding them. If you can point us at a first-party page for any of these, we will update the record and credit the correction.

  • Ask the vendor whether scaling a formula to batch size is planned. Retested in the account on 2026-09-15 and again on 2026-09-23 and it does not scale today, so this is a roadmap question only the vendor can answer.
  • Check rule 3 again when Kerno's v2 ships. The vendor says v2 adds purchasing and tracks incoming purchase orders; if an open order counts toward what is available, scheduled receipts can move off no and purchasing off partial. v2 had not shipped on 2026-09-23 and there are no public v2 docs. Tracking the order is not enough on its own: check that an open order reduces what a batch shows as short.
  • Ask the vendor whether a dated sales order and a supplier lead time field are planned, which are rules 2 and 5. Both were confirmed absent field by field in the account on 2026-09-15, and nothing on the pricing page reserves them for a higher tier. This is a roadmap question.
  • Ask the vendor whether anything is planned to generate a dated instruction, which is rule 6 and the difference between this and Full MRP. This is a roadmap question.
  • Ask the vendor whether an API, webhooks or an MCP server exist outside the interface. Account Settings and all five owner-level pages have no key management, and there are no public developer docs (the help center's 'Integrations & AI' category had 0 articles on 2026-09-18). Absence of docs is not proof, so these three stay unknown. Rechecked on 2026-09-23: signed in, /api/ lands on the owner dashboard and the category is still empty.
  • Record Kerno's answer on full account export, which it was checking internally on 2026-09-15. Still pending on 2026-09-18 and not public.
  • Re-check CSV export in the account once Kerno ships it. On 2026-09-15 it was going on the roadmap with no date.
  • Establish which tier the beta trial maps to. The Subscription page says only "active trial", the account shows Teams-tier features, and neither the pricing nor the beta page maps the trial to a tier. Needs the account or the vendor.
  • Establish in the account whether expiry dates on lots and batches drive any warning. The account records them and does nothing with them, and the public help center has no expiry article.
  • Record the campaign's goal, dates, backer count and outcome if a page showing them can be found. The project page on file still renders as pre-launch, and a scripted fetch gets only a bot-block page, so this needs a manual browser visit.
  • Re-check status and pricing when the beta ends. The beta was still running on 2026-09-23.
  • Re-read the help center at https://www.buildwithkerno.com/help/ once the sample-article footer is removed. The owner confirmed on 2026-09-23 that its content is real and citable; it is registered as a limited source, and where it describes demand forecasting or lead-time reorder points that the 2026-09-15 account walk did not find, the account wins.

Still unknown: api, webhooks, mcp support.

Report a correction