Stocksmith
Formerly Craftybase. If you were searching for that name, this is the same product.
by Stocksmith Pty Ltd
Recipe-and-batch inventory built for small-batch makers, with unlimited BOM depth, lot numbers, and cost of goods calculated from what you paid suppliers rather than what you guessed.
Why it is classified this way
We call this a Batch / process manufacturing product. Built around recipes or formulas, batch runs, and lot genealogy. May or may not include full time-phased planning.
It is not labeled Full MRP because we have not verified that it accepts dated demand, sales orders, a forecast, or a master production schedule; nets that demand against stock on hand and orders already incoming; explodes requirements through at least one level of the bill of materials; uses lead times or required dates; and produces dated buy, make, transfer, release, or reschedule recommendations. That is a statement about the evidence we found, not a claim that the product is weak, see the capability table and the sources below.
The six Full MRP tests, and how Stocksmith does on each (1 of 6)
- YesIt represents a bill of materials, recipe, or formula.Evidence: stocksmith.io › Features(opens in a new tab); stocksmith.io(opens in a new tab)
- PartialIt accepts dated demand, sales orders, a forecast, or a master production schedule.Not established. Only partly shown: the evidence covers some of this but not all of it, so the test is not established.
- PartialIt nets that demand against stock on hand and orders already incoming.Not established. Only partly shown: the evidence covers some of this but not all of it, so the test is not established.
- UnknownIt explodes requirements through at least one level of the bill of materials.Not established. No evidence found yet.
- PartialIt uses lead times or required dates.Not established. Only partly shown: the evidence covers some of this but not all of it, so the test is not established.
- PartialIt produces dated buy, make, transfer, release, or reschedule recommendations.Not established. Only partly shown: the evidence covers some of this but not all of it, so the test is not established.
These rules are applied identically to every product and enforced at build time, a record cannot be published as Full MRP unless all six pass with a source attached. Read the methodology.
Best for
- Makers who need defensible cost of goods sold for their accountant at year end
- Small-batch brands that must be able to trace a lot number back through a recipe
- Growing shops that want unlimited users without per-seat pricing
Not a fit when
- Anyone who needs to be told what to order and by when. This is threshold alerts, not planning
- Shops that need to schedule people or machines through routed operations
- Buyers assuming the $20 tier includes manufacturing; it does not
Pricing facts
What it costs to do manufacturing in this product.
Advertised from
$20/month
Useful entry price
$99/month
Billing basis
Flat rate
Why the useful price is higher
The $20 Pro tier appears only in the pricing FAQ. Studio at $49 ($41 billed yearly) is sold with recipe management, but batch and lot tracking and traceability reports start at the Indie plan: $99 a month, or $83 if you pay for a year up front. If you need lot traceability, $99 is your real starting price.
Free trial: 14 days.
Plans
| Plan | Price | Add-ons and setup |
|---|---|---|
| StudioBilling term not stated | $41/mo | — |
| The pricing page shows Studio only as "$41/mo", with multi-user inventory and recipe management; its monthly price, user count and order limit are not on the page. Batch and lot tracking starts at Indie. | ||
| IndieBilled monthly | $99/mo | — |
| 1,000 order lines a month. Unlimited users. | ||
| IndieBilled yearly, shown per month | $82.50/mo | — |
| 1,000 order lines a month. Unlimited users. $990 a year, shown on the page as $83 a month. | ||
| BusinessBilled monthly | $199/mo | — |
| Up to 5,000 order lines a month. Unlimited users. | ||
| BusinessBilled yearly, shown per month | $165.83/mo | — |
| Up to 5,000 order lines a month. Unlimited users. $1,990 a year, shown on the page as $166 a month. | ||
| GrowthBilled monthly | $349/mo | — |
| 5,000+ order lines a month. Unlimited users. | ||
| GrowthBilled yearly, shown per month | $290.83/mo | — |
| 5,000+ order lines a month. Unlimited users. $3,490 a year, shown on the page as $291 a month. | ||
Cheapest paid plan that manufactures, by paid users
- 1 user: Studio, $41 a month (billing term not stated); first year $492.
- 5 users: Studio, $41 a month (billing term not stated); first year $492.
- 10 users: Studio, $41 a month (billing term not stated); first year $492.
Pricing detail
Published tiers: Pro $20 (FAQ only), Studio $49/mo or $41 annual, Indie $99/mo or $83 annual, Business $199/mo or $166 annual, Growth $349/mo or $291 annual. Users are unlimited from Indie upward, which is unusual and genuinely good, most competitors charge per seat. Indie is capped at 1,000 order lines a month, Business at 5,000. Production scheduling and automatic stock sync are Business-and-above. Free 14-day trial on any plan, no card required.
Checked on October 9, 2026. Source: stocksmith.io(opens in a new tab). Prices change. Check before you buy.
Manufacturing capability
18 of 25 fields resolved. "Unknown" means we have not found first-party evidence. It is not a No.
Planning
Working out what to buy or make, and when.
| Capability | Finding | What we found |
|---|---|---|
| Accepts dated demandYou can tell it what is due and when, sales orders with dates, a forecast, or a production schedule. | Partial | Open sales orders feed the calculation. No forecast input is described, so demand is what has been ordered rather than what is expected.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: stocksmith.io › Mrp software(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| Nets against stock on handIt subtracts what you already have before telling you to buy more. | Yes | Shows "what you can build now and what you need to reorder", derived from "open orders, current stock, and bills of materials". Demand netted against stock through the BOM.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: stocksmith.io › Mrp software(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| Counts incoming ordersIt knows about purchase orders and production orders already placed, so it does not tell you to order twice. | Partial | The reorder report shows stock already on order next to stock on hand: "This is a count of any purchases marked as not yet received for this material." Nothing says that quantity reduces what the report tells you to reorder.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: help.stocksmith.io › About material reorder reports(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| Uses lead timesIt works backwards from when you need something to when you must order or start it, using supplier and production lead times. | Partial | Supplier records store "who you order from, at what price, on what lead time", but the lead time does not appear to set any date. The Material Reorder report is a stock snapshot: "The Material Reorder report is a snapshot report that lists all active materials and components either out of stock or marked as having low stock." It gives no order-by date, and purchase arrival dates are typed in by hand. This rests on the public help center; lead times otherwise appear only in marketing copy.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: stocksmith.io › Features(opens in a new tab); help.stocksmith.io › About material reorder reports(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| Produces dated buy/make suggestionsThe output is an actionable list with dates, order this much by this date, start this batch on this date. | Partial | Reorder thresholds are set per material with preferred order quantities, and you get an alert when stock drops below the threshold. That is a threshold alarm, not a time-phased plan. It tells you that you are low today, not what to order for a batch due in three weeks. The Material Reorder report lists what is out of stock or low, with quantity on order, but no date to order by.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: stocksmith.io › Features(opens in a new tab); help.stocksmith.io › About material reorder reports(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| Capacity planningChecks whether your people and machines can do the work in the time available. | Unknown | Not yet researched. We would need: documentation of work-center or resource capacity being compared against load.Know the answer? |
Production
Recipes, bills of materials, and running the work.
| Capability | Finding | What we found |
|---|---|---|
| Bill of materialsA list of the parts and quantities needed to make one of something. | Yes | "Build your BOMs with as many levels as production requires."Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: stocksmith.io › Features(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| Multi-level BOMSub-assemblies inside assemblies, a part that is itself made from other parts, nested as deep as you need. | Yes | "Unlimited BOM depth — materials, sub-assemblies, finished goods." The pricing page sells recipe management from the Studio plan; whether Studio has the same BOM depth as Indie is not stated.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: stocksmith.io › Features(opens in a new tab); stocksmith.io › Pricing(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| Recipes & formulasBatch-style production by weight, volume, or percentage, including scaling a batch up or down. | Yes | Recipes are the core object. The vendor describes "multi-level recipes: raw materials, sub-assemblies, and finished products". We have not verified batch scaling by weight or percentage.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: stocksmith.io(opens in a new tab); stocksmith.io › Features(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| Work / manufacturing ordersA record authorising and tracking the making of a specific quantity. | Yes | "Record a batch. Materials deduct. Cost calculates." Production runs are recorded with automatic material consumption.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: stocksmith.io › Features(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| Routings & operationsThe ordered steps a product goes through, and which machine or station does each one. | Unknown | Not yet researched. We would need: documentation of operation sequences or routings attached to production.Know the answer? |
| Shop-floor trackingOperators report progress, time, and completions as the work happens. | Unknown | Not yet researched. We would need: documentation of a shop-floor, operator, or terminal interface for reporting production.Know the answer? |
| Quality controlsChecks, tests, holds, and non-conformance records tied to production or receiving. | Unknown | Not yet researched. We would need: documentation of quality inspections, checks, or non-conformance handling.Know the answer? |
Inventory & traceability
Knowing what you hold and being able to trace it.
| Capability | Finding | What we found |
|---|---|---|
| Batch & lot traceabilityWhich incoming material lots went into which finished batch, and where those finished goods went. | Yes | Lot numbers with a dedicated traceability feature and full production history. Included from the Indie plan upward, not on Studio.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: stocksmith.io › Features(opens in a new tab); stocksmith.io › Pricing(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| Expiry & shelf lifeBest-before dates on materials and finished goods, with warnings before they lapse. | Yes | "Expiry dates and supplier records on every material", with stock shown "at the lot level, with expiry dates front and centre" so you can "use the oldest lots first, spot what's about to expire". Central to the cosmetics and food shops this targets.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: stocksmith.io › Lot tracking software(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| Serial numbersUnique identifiers on individual units, for warranty or field service. | Unknown | Not yet researched. We would need: documentation of serial number tracking on individual units.Know the answer? |
Commerce & accounting
Costs, purchasing, storefronts, and the books.
| Capability | Finding | What we found |
|---|---|---|
| Product costing & COGSWhat it costs you to make one, and the cost of the goods you sold. | Yes | "COGS calculated from what you actually paid, not what you estimated", updating automatically when purchase prices change. Materials, labour and overhead in one calculation, with a year-end COGS report for accountants.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: stocksmith.io › Features(opens in a new tab); stocksmith.io(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| PurchasingRaising and tracking purchase orders to suppliers from inside the system. | Yes | "Purchase orders tracked from creation through to receipt", with supplier records holding price and lead time.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: stocksmith.io › Features(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| Accounting connectionSends financial data to bookkeeping software, or includes its own general ledger. | Yes | QuickBooks is a named integration. Xero is not available yet; the help center says: "Unfortunately, we do not integrate with Xero at this time, but we are working on this integration." The integrations page still lists it as "Coming soon" (checked 2026-09-18).Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: stocksmith.io › Integrations(opens in a new tab); help.stocksmith.io › Can i import my stocksmith data into xero(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| Ecommerce connectionPulls orders and pushes stock levels to a storefront or marketplace. | Yes | Shopify, WooCommerce, Etsy, Square, Faire and Amazon are named on the features page.Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: stocksmith.io › Features(opens in a new tab)Question this |
Openness & your data
Getting data in, out, and away if you leave.
| Capability | Finding | What we found |
|---|---|---|
| APIA documented programming interface so other software can read and write your data. | Partial | A REST API is documented publicly but is read-only and in closed beta, not switched on for every account, and which plans will include it is not decided. The help center says: "Not yet. The current API is read-only: you can pull data out of Stocksmith, but writing data back in isn't supported."Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: help.stocksmith.io › Do you have an api available(opens in a new tab); help.stocksmith.io › Using the stocksmith api(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| WebhooksThe system can notify other software the moment something changes. | Unknown | Not yet researched. We would need: documentation of outbound webhooks or event subscriptions.Know the answer? |
| MCP supportA Model Context Protocol server, letting an AI assistant read or act on this data. Useful, but it has nothing to do with whether the product plans materials. | Partial | Stocksmith runs its own read-only MCP server at mcp.stocksmith.io. Read-only alone would count; it stays Partial because access is a closed beta, not something every account can switch on: "Only the account's primary user can connect an AI assistant, and like the rest of the public API, it's part of the current closed beta."Reviewed October 9, 2026. Source: help.stocksmith.io › Do you have an api available(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| CSV exportYou can get your lists out as spreadsheet files. | Partial | The vendor states: "1. Go to your Product List page and apply searches or filters to generate the list you require. Click the Export button in the top right of the list. Next, head to your Notification page to download the generated file." The export is part of the bulk product updater, and the article uses older plan names, so which current plans include it is not confirmed. Checked 2026-09-14.Reviewed September 14, 2026. Source: help.stocksmith.io › Updating products via csv(opens in a new tab)Question this |
| Full data exportYou can take everything, including history and relationships, not just a few screens' worth of rows. | Unknown | Not yet researched. We would need: documentation of a complete account export, database dump, or equivalent.Know the answer? |
Deployment, licensing and your data
- Deployment
- Cloud (hosted for you)
- Licensing
- Proprietary SaaS
- Team sizes
- Just me, 2–5 people, 6–20 people
- Manufacturing styles
- Batch & recipe products, Countable assembled products, Kits & bundles
Integrations
- Shopify
- WooCommerce
- Etsy
- Square
- Faire
- Amazon
Jobs this product qualifies for
Derived from the capability table above, not hand-assigned.
Editorial notes and cautions
Things we would want a friend to know before buying.
- Craftybase became Stocksmith on 1 July 2026. The vendor states that accounts, data, recipes, integrations, pricing and billing dates all carried over unchanged, and that craftybase.com redirects to stocksmith.io. If you are searching for Craftybase reviews, they are about this product.
- The gap between the $20 headline and the $99 manufacturing tier is the single most important pricing fact here.
- Unlimited users from Indie upward is genuinely unusual in this market and worth a lot to a shop of five people. Compare it against per-seat products on total cost, not on sticker price.
Alternatives to Stocksmith
An alternative is always an alternative for a reason. There is no universal replacement.
Inventora starts at $19 a month billed yearly, against Stocksmith's $99 for comparable batch and traceability features, but Inventora caps materials and variants where Stocksmith caps order lines.
- MRPeasyStronger true MRP
If the thing you need is a system that says "order 80 pounds of wax by Friday", Stocksmith will not do it and MRPeasy will, at the cost of a per-user bill and a steeper learning curve.
Compared on Ardent Seller's page, where we wrote: "Stocksmith adds a QuickBooks connection, Faire and Amazon channels and documented expiry handling on lots, at a far higher entry price: lot tracking starts at $99 a month."
Compared on Atlessa Manufacturing's page, where we wrote: "Stocksmith connects to Etsy, Amazon, Faire and WooCommerce as well as Shopify, so it fits a maker who sells beyond one Shopify store."
Evidence and verification
Expiry handling is now sourced from the lot tracking page and is a genuine strength for the small-batch cosmetics and food makers this product targets. The planning engine nets open orders against stock through the BOM and alerts when stock drops below a reorder threshold; supplier lead times are stored, but nothing published shows them setting a suggested order date, so it stays short of dated recommendations. The API and MCP server are read-only and in closed beta: "The API is in closed beta at the moment, so it isn't switched on for every account yet." No webhooks are documented and there is no whole-account export; CSV exports are per list (contacts, purchases, materials, manufactures, orders and products).
Sources we checked (12)
stocksmith.io
craftybase.com
What we still want to confirm
We publish our gaps rather than hiding them. If you can point us at a first-party page for any of these, we will update the record and credit the correction.
- Confirm serial number support. No public help article or feature page mentions serial numbers (help sitemap searched), and silence cannot be recorded as no. Ask the vendor.
- Watch for Xero moving from "Coming soon" to shipped. Still not shipped as of 2026-09-18, per the help center and the integrations page.
Still unknown: capacity planning, routings & operations, shop-floor tracking, quality controls, serial numbers, webhooks, full data export.